No results at this time.

Upcoming Events

Schedule TBA

Current Points

No points at this time.


Gay Earns $1,000 in CRUSA’s Street Stock Debut at East Bay

Gay Earns $1,000 in CRUSA’s Street Stock Debut at East Bay

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Jan. 26) — Tim Gay of Plant City, Fla., has raced for well over three decades at East Bay Raceway Park, and when the track started to change in the latter stages of a 20-lap Crate Racin’ USA Street Stock feature in the popular division’s debut at the facility during the traditional Florida Winternationals at the third-mile oval, the race’s final caution flag created an opportunity for the Plant City, Fla., driver.

Realizing the track had started to acquire traction on the bottom right before a caution slowed the pace on the 15th circuit, Gay zeroed his attention on that groove and used it to pass Chad Thrash for the lead with six laps remaining en route to a victory over the Meridian, Miss., competitor.

Gay earned the $1,000 top prize over Thrash, Race McMahon, Jay Burchfield and Kyle Bowman. A total of 38 drivers showed up for CRUSA’s initial event for its ever-popular Street Stock class at the famed facility.

“I found that traction during the caution when I was cleaning my tires and preparing for the restart,” Gay said. “Man, it was great when I suddenly realized what had happened. I was like, ‘Hey…there’s something down there! Basically I snapped the steering wheel to slide the car around, and just felt it. It’d been all sideways and greasy down there earlier in the race and I could barely make the corner down there, and all of a sudden we had some grip. Just in time for the restart, and I knew we had a chance.”

Once he’d dispatched Thrash to a runnerup showing, Gay drove away to the winner’s circle. A local kid and a hard-core racer who still squeezes a lot of fun and enjoyment from the sport, Gay grew up in Hillsborough County, where the third-mile track is located.

He lived in both Thonotosassa and Temple Terrace during his developmental years before eventually settling in his current hometown. He might have relocated as an adult, but Gay’s childhood memories of the historic facility and its legendary clay surface are firmly etched into his brain.

“I cut my racing teeth right here at this track,” Gay said. “I’ve raced and won at most of the dirt tracks in Florida except for a couple of ‘em. My brother and I actually ran races barefooted around this place while they were still building it. This track is a really special place for us.”

Gay completed the required distance in a Prototype Chassis by Boyd Brothers entry, and a motor from Fatback Racing Engines. Sponsors included J&S Plumbing, Rowland & Son, Certified Tire & Service and Rescue Roofing.

About Crate Racin’ USA
The economical Chevrolet Performance 602 and 604 Circle Track Engine is utilized by competitors in the various divisions presented by Crate Racin’ USA. It’s in stock and available from Newsome Raceway Parts in Hartsville, S.C.
Each engine is built and sealed at the factory to prevent any expensive modifications. To place an order, call 1-877-497-3624.

For more information and rules, visit the organization’s website at www.crateracinusa.com, or follow our extensive social media programs on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Newsome Raceway Parts, a division of Raceway Chevrolet in Hartsville, S.C., is the title sponsor of Crate Racin’ USA. E-Z-GO Golf Carts is the title sponsor of the third-year E-Z-GO $100,000+ Challenge.

Chevrolet Performance is an official sponsor of the organization, along with Advanced Laser & Machine, Cruise with the Champions, Hoosier Racing Tire, KRC Power Steering, Knowles Race Parts and Bodies, My Race Pass, VP Racing Fuels and Lubricants and Willy’s Carburetors.

Official chassis sponsors include Warrior Race Cars, Rocket Chassis and CVR Race Cars.

Florida Winternationals (Night #1): 1. Tim Gay, 2. Chad Thrash, 3. Race McMahon, 4. Jay Burchfield, 5. Kyle Bowman, 6. Jeff Conyers, 7. Justin Rodgers, 8. Tim Powers, 9. Ricky Greene, 10. Zach Amundsen, 11. Richard Livernois, 12. Brian Morgan, 13. Cody Allen, 14. Joshua Arabie, 15. Chris Walker, 16. Brad Langford, 17. Tandy Marlin, 18. Andy Stewart, 19. Robo Hutchinson, 20. Dillon Ussery, 21. Steven Deinhardt, 22. Cameron Metts, 23. T.J. Herndon, 24. Bruce Griffin.

Entries: 38
Lap leaders: Jay Burchfield 1-2, Chad Thrash 3-14; Tim Gay, 15-20.
Cautions: 3
Margin of victory: 1.890 seconds
Heat winners: Jay Burchfield, Richard Livernois, Tim Gay, Chad Thrash.
B-main winners: Steven Deinhardt, Race McMahon.

Article Credit: Brian McLeod

Roger Dabbs Chevrolet

Email Newsletter

Willy's Carburetor & Dyno Shop
Knowles Race Parts & Bodies
KRC Power Steering
Cruise With The Champions
Advanced Lasers